New EU Commission Welcomed For Scots Agriculture

27 November 2009
SNP MEP and member of the European Parliament's Agriculture Committee Alyn Smith has hailed the newly formed European Commission as progress for Scotland's agricultural sector and as good news as the EU approaches the thorny issue of reform of the Common Agricultural Policy.

Mr Smith has written to both the prospective Romanian Agriculture Commissioner and Maltese Health Commissioner to extend an invite to Scotland at their earliest convenience.

Smith said:

"Congratulations to Commissioner Dacian Ciolos on his new role. To follow Commissioner Fischer Boel as Agriculture Commissioner is always going to be a daunting task, but I have no doubt that he will be up to it and will be roundly welcomed by the Agriculture Committee. His background in farming means that he is up to speed on the issues and will, I hope, have a realistic approach to the hurdles that are coming our way in the next few years.

"Also very welcome is the appointment of John Dalli as Commissioner for Health and Consumer Policy. This part of the Commission is of huge importance to Scotland's farmers with remit over EID, animal transport and pesticides. Certainly I would expect that coming from Malta he will have a good appreciation of the difficulties faced by peripheral areas when it comes to the logistics of animal transport.

"I have today written to both prospective Commissioners inviting them to come to Scotland as soon as they have been confirmed in their roles."

President Barroso has announced a number of new portfolios: Climate Action; Home Affairs; Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. He has reconfigured a number of other portfolios: Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth; Health and Consumer Policy; Industry and Entrepreneurship; Research and Innovation; International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response. There will be a new emphasis on inclusion in the Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion portfolio, and a renewed focus with the Digital Agenda portfolio.

- Joaquín ALMUNIA: Competition. Vice-President of the Commission.

- László ANDOR: Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion.

- Baroness Catherine ASHTON: High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security and Vice-President of the Commission.

- Michel BARNIER: Internal Market and Services.

- Dacian CIOLOS: Agriculture and Rural Development.

- John DALLI: Health and Consumer Policy.

- Maria DAMANAKI: Maritime Affairs and Fisheries.

- Karel DE GUCHT: Trade.

- Štefan FÜLE: Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy.

- Johannes HAHN: Regional Policy.

- Connie HEDEGAARD: Climate Action.

- Maire GEOGHEGAN-QUINN: Research and Innovation.

- Rumiana JELEVA: International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response.

- Siim KALLAS: Transport. Vice-President of the Commission.

- Neelie KROES: Digital Agenda. Vice-President of the Commission.

- Janusz LEWANDOWSKI: Budget and Financial Programming.

- Cecilia MALMSTRÖM: Home Affairs.

- Günter OETTINGER: Energy.

- Andris PIEBALGS: Development.

- Janez POTOČNIK: Environment.

- Viviane REDING: Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. Vice-President of the Commission.

- Olli REHN: Economic and Monetary Affairs.

- Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ: Vice-President of the Commission for Inter-Institutional Relations and Administration.

- Algirdas ŠEMETA: Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud.

- Antonio TAJANI: Industry and Entrepreneurship. Vice-President of the Commission.

- Androulla VASSILIOU: Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.

The new Commission must gain approval from the European Parliament before it takes office for a term of office running until 31 October 2014. Commissioners-designate will appear in individual hearings before Parliamentary committees from 11-19 January. The vote of consent on the new Commission as a whole is foreseen to take place on 26 January. On the basis of the vote of consent, the Commission shall be appointed by the European Council. Then it can start working.

The CVs with pictures of the 26 Commissioners-designate are now available on: